18 September 2022

Another lovely spring day for the semi-final and final of the District Pairs, played at Belrose BC.

The semi-finals in the morning provided plenty of entertainment for the spectators, with Elizabeth Blackwell and Sue Hamilton (Turramurra) dominating the first half of the game to be leading 16-2 then 17-5 over Diane McBryde and Rhonwen Martin (St Ives), only to see the momentum shift in the second half. The St Ives pair scored on 8 successive ends to get their noses in front 19-17, then stamped their mark on the game with a 5 on the 19th end before closing out the game 25-19.

In the other semi-final, Kate Wingrove and Jenny Hepburn (Neutral Bay) were up against Dale Nuttall and Louise Hamshere (Belrose), in a match that was an arm wrestle up to the 14th end. Then the Bay put together three ends in a row to get in front 18-11; however, the Belrose pair struck back over the next three ends, levelling the scores at 18-18 going into the last end. With everything on the line, Neutral Bay skip Jenny drew inside the best of the Belrose bowls and there her bowl remained, sealing the win for Kate and Jenny 19-18.

With the wind picking up, the players returned to the green after lunch for the Final. St Ives scored a single shot on the opening end, but then Neutral Bay kept St Ives from scoring over the next six ends, running the score out to 13-1. After a 2 to St Ives, Kate and Jenny piled the pressure back on and after 16 ends the score was 25-4. Some very tidy bowling from Di and Rhonwen saw them pick up 8 shots in three ends, but the game was still firmly in Neutral Bay’s hands, with Kate and Jenny claiming victory 26-12. It was the first time either of them had won the Pairs in North Shore District — last year, Jenny won the District Singles, Triples and Fours (with Kate sharing the win in the Fours), so the Neutral Bay trophy cabinet now holds the District trophies in all disciplines!!

Good luck to our champions when they take on the Manly-Warringah champions (to be decided this week) in the Regional Play-Off next Saturday afternoon, 24 September, at Belrose.

Results from all Rounds of the North Shore championship below:


2021 State Open Pairs champions in North Shore District, Ngoc Hau & Louise Amos (Killara)

7 May 2021

The Open (and Senior) Pairs were affected by rain this week, so the final between Elizabeth Blackwell/Midori Matsuoka (Neutral Bay) and Ngoc Hau/Louise Amos (Killara) was played on Friday 7 May at Belrose, followed by the Region 15 Play-Off in the afternoon.

The final was a very close game throughout, with Ngoc and Louise eventually winning 16-15.

The Regional Play-Off was a rematch of 2020’s, with Ngoc and Louise up against Jacqui Morgan and Jenny Roberts (Seaforth) in a very high-quality match. There were never more than 3 or 4 shots in it, with the Seaforth pair eventually winning 18-16.

Full results from our District championship below:



Ngoc Hau and Louise Amos (Killara) are our Open Pairs Champions for 2020, having defeated Maggie Jay and Midori Matsuoka (Neutral Bay) by just one shot. Full results from all rounds below:




In the final of the Open Pairs 2019, Jeyam Siva and Billie Maas (Belrose) defeated Jess de Greenlaw and Jenny Hepburn (Neutral Bay).

Click below for results from all rounds:

Draw/Results Open Pairs 2019

2018-03-25 20.06.18


In the final of the Open Pairs 2018, Michelle Treadwell and Billie Maas (Belrose) defeated Emma Brown and Anne Coleman (North Sydney).





In the final of the Open Pairs 2017, Elizabeth Blackwell & Jenny Palmer (Neutral Bay) defeated Lorraine Hazzard & Kay King (Belrose). 

FULL RESULTS:  Draw/Results Open Pairs 2017


Pairs Champ[ions 2016


The final of the District Open Pairs 2016 was played on Wednesday 11 May at Warringah BC, with Jenny Palmer and Lynne Thompson  (Neutral Bay) defeating Lorraine Hazzard and Patricia Tan (Belrose).

FULL RESULTS:  Draw/Results Open Pairs 2016

L to R  Jenny Wallis and Jeanette Staniland
2015 Pairs Champions Jenny Wallis and Jeanette Staniland (Turramurra)


The 2015 District Pairs Championship final was played at Mosman on 7 August, with Jeanette Staniland and Jenny Wallis (Turramurra) defeating Elaine Seidler and Michele Campbell (Neutral Bay).

FULL RESULTS:  Draw/Results Open Pairs 2015