North Sydney Win Regional Senior Fours


North Sydney – Slavica Beram, Peggy Wilton, Anna Vuckovic and Jenny Lea-Tutton (S)

Newport Win Regional Open Fours

fullsizerender3The Newport team of Barbara Green (skip), Marie Smith, Coral Lindley (sub) & Chris Russell

In an enthralling day of bowls at Dee Why, the Newport team of B. Green (S), M. Smith,  J. Russell (sub C. Lindley) and C. Russell won the Regional Open Fours, defeating the Belrose team of L. Hazzard, J. Carpenter, K. King,  and P. Tan (S).  Newport played superb bowls and were in a commanding position throughout the match. The Belrose team never gave in and fought to the end, but it was Newport’s day and they deserved their win.

In the Senior Fours game S Beram, P Wilton, A Vuckvic and J Lea-Tutton of North Sydney were initially struggling in their game against a strong Harbord team of L Belling, R Kennedy, J Newell & C Gordon, however midway through the match the tables turned.  They manged to catch Harbord and never looked back,  eventually winning by a decisive margin.  It was a fantastic effort by this small club which has been through some tough times over the past few years – well done ladies!

Newport and North Sydney  now go through to the State play-offs to be held at Taren Point in October.

North Sydney Senior Fours Champions


The North Sydney team of Slavica Beram, Peggy Wilton, Anna Vuckovic and Jenny Lea-Tutton are the 2017 Senior Fours Champions, having scored a decisive win over the Belrose team skipped by Margaret Brady in the final at Turramurra on 16 February. The North Sydney girls had looked steady all week, including Tuesday when they were missing Jenny, so Anna skipped and Barbara Turnbull came in as a sub. In the final, scoring was evenly matched early in the game, but by the 11th end Norths had drawn ahead 13-7. Belrose looked set to catch up on the 13th until Jenny knocked in one of her team’s short bowls and cut the score back to 1, for Belrose to narrow the gap to 13-9. However, North Sydney grasped the title firmly into their hands with a full count of 8 on the 15th and, despite some lovely shot-making by Belrose on the remaining ends, took out the match 24-13. (Full results from all rounds available under “Draws/Results”.)


Above: Margaret Brady  (skip), Lyn Needs, Elaine Hay and Robyn Gibb  (Belrose)

Belrose team Open Fours Champions


L Hazzard, J Carpenter, K King, P Tan (Skip), (Belrose)

In a nail-biting final at St Ives on 14 February, the Belrose team of Lorraine Hazzard, Judith Carpenter, Kay King and Patricia Tan overcame being down 3-13 after 12 ends, to win the 2017 Open Fours Championship 26-20 over the Neutral Bay team of Lesley Szumylo, Midori  Matsuoka, Maggie Jay and Lou Hamshere. The turning point came on the 13th end, when a springing of the jack delivered the Belrose team a 4, and by the 16th end there was only one shot the difference. Then a 5 to Belrose saw them hit the lead 18-14, and they drew away further until Neutral Bay picked up 6 on the 19th end to regain a 1-shot lead. A successful last-bowl conversion by the Belrose skip in the 2oth gave them 2 to go into the last end 1 ahead, then each member of the Belrose team played steadily on the last end, claiming 5 shots for a decisive win.


L Hamshere (skip), M Jay, M Matsuoka, L Szumylo (Neutral Bay)


  Progressive ~ Competitive ~ Inclusive

  Follow these links to Clubs in our District 

Belrose,  Chatswood,  Forestville,  Gordon,  Killara,  Lane Cove,  Lindfield,  Mosman,  Neutral Bay,  North Sydney,  Roseville,  St. Ives,  Turramurra,  Warrawee,  Warringah,  West Pymble

%d bloggers like this: