Open Fours Champions 2019:  Lorraine Hazzard, Kay King, Michelle Treadwell, Benita Andrews (Belrose)

In the semi final of the Open 4’s played at Mosman on 30 April, the Belrose team skipped by Benita Andrews defeated the Neutral Bay team skipped by Jess de Greenlaw. In the other semi, Killara, skipped by Louise Amos, defeated Elain Swain’s Belrose team, setting up the final between Belrose and Killara.
Belrose got off to a great start, leading 12 -2 after 7 ends. They continued on with their consistent play to extend their lead to 18-8 after 13 ends. Killara battled on, but there was no stopping this Belrose team who were on fire and thoroughly deserved their decisive win.  Results from all rounds below:

Draw/Results Open Fours 2019



2018-05-29 19.14.44 (2)

Open Fours Champions 2018: Sue Hamilton, Jenny Wallis, Marilyn Brenner and Jan Martin (Turramurra)

The final of the State Open Fours at District level was played on 29 May at Asquith with the Turramurra team of Jan Martin, Marilyn Brenner, Jenny Wallis and Sue Hamilton continuing the excellent bowls they had played all tournament to emerge, in near-darkness, as the 2018 champions.


Click link below for the full Results.

Draw Open Fours 2018



Fours Champions 2017

Fours Champions 2017 Lorraine Hazzard, Judith Carpenter, Kay King, Patricia Tan (skip) (Belrose)

In a nail-biting final at St Ives on 14 February 2017, the Belrose team of Lorraine Hazzard, Judith Carpenter, Kay King and Patricia Tan overcame being down 3-13 after 12 ends to win the 2017 Open Fours Championship 26-20 over the Neutral Bay team of Lesley Szumylo, Midori Matsuoka, Maggie Jay and Lou Hamshere.

Draw/Results Open Fours 2017



Open Fours winners 2016 – Elizabeth Blackwell, Jenny Hepburn, Jenny Palmer and Lynne Thompson (Neutral Bay)

The final of the 2016 Open Fours at District level became a rematch of the 2015 final, with Lynne Thompson’s Neutral Bay team and Bridget Nelson’s Gordon team once again playing off for the title. Gordon were ahead throughout the match until Neutral Bay drew level on the 19th end. Gordon was up by 1 shot going into the last end, but a great last bowl from Lynne took the jack back to two Neutral Bay bowls to win the Championship. A great final!

Draw/Results Open Fours 2016

2015 winners: J Mortimer, S Hashimoto, H Stromsmoe, B Nelson Gordon) with the donor of the trophy, Anne Cowlishaw (centre).

2015 winners: J Mortimer, S Hashimoto, H Stromsmoe, B Nelson Gordon) with the donor of the trophy, Anne Cowlishaw (centre).


The inaugural winners of the Open Fours became the proud holders of a trophy kindly donated to our new District by Anne Cowlishaw (St Ives). Thanks to Anne’s generosity in “starting the ball rolling”, we now have trophies for the Fours, Singles Champion, Singles Runner-Up and, soon to come, Triples.

Draw/Results Open Fours 2015