Under 5 Years competition 2019

Belrose wins inaugural North Shore Under 5s


Five of the nine ladies who played for Belrose Under 5s this season: Leisa Taylor, Janet Robson (skip), May Shepherd, Lorraine Fevre and Dale Nuttall.

The inaugural “Under 5 Years” competition for North Shore District has been won by Belrose, who claimed the trophy by winning 5 of their 6 matches. This is the first time we have run an “Under 5’s” event in conjunction with the Pennant season since the District merger just over four years ago. Club-selected Fours teams were entered by Asquith, Belrose, Neutral Bay and Turramurra, with Belrose finishing on 15 points and Asquith and Turramurra sharing 2nd place on 9 points.
The Belrose squad included three full-time workers who took part in the games scheduled for Saturdays, with others playing in the mid-week games. In total, nine Belrose players took part. With one round having been washed out during the season, that match was played on Saturday 6 April between Turramurra and Belrose and attracted quite an amount of spectator interest as Turramurra had to defeat Belrose by a large margin to claim the season win. It started as a very level contest; however Lorraine Fevre playing 2nd for Belrose started getting her bowls in around the jack, and the Belrose girls opened up a lead 12-3 at the 9th end. Just when it looked as though the game might get away from Turramurra, it became a “battle of the 2nds”, with Jan Braund for Turramurra also finding her range. The standard of play really ramped up, with several spectators commenting that their own spots in Pennant teams were looking under threat from the newer players! Turramurra fought hard, but their hopes of winning a multiple shot-count were dashed many times over by the Belrose 3rd Dale drawing in, or skip Janet making conversions. And “up front” the newest player on the green Leisa, who had become “a bowler” only a few weeks before the comp began, stayed steady to help her team to their 24-21 win. District Vice President Di Tracy was on hand to present the trophy to the five members of the winning squad present on the day (pictured above). (The other Belrose ladies who had played during the season were Judy Johnson, Pam Cuthbert, Paula Simes and Gill Gorrick.)
Well done to all the players from the clubs that participated this year — let’s hope we can keep this competition going in future years.